Skiing the Trail

skipassSki Passes Are Required

As a reminder, all skiers that are 16 years of age and older are required by state law to have a valid Great Minnesota Ski Pass when skiing the Cannon Valley Trail. Funds raised from the passes are credited to a DNR account and allocated back to trails throughout the State of Minnesota to assist with maintenance costs. The Cannon Valley Trail is groomed and tracked for both traditional and skate skiing.

Many cross country skiers look for hills and curves on a ski trail and although the Cannon Valley Trail does not have much of that, it does offer exceptional winter scenery. In the winter seeing Bald Eagles and flocks of Wild Turkeys along the Trail is routine. The Anderson Rest Area makes a great ski destination and you could add some interest by having a fire in the pit. Remember recreational fires are allowed in designated areas only.

Purchasing a ski pass

Electronic Licensing System
Get your daily, one-season and three-season ski passes using Minnesota’s new electronic licensing system. There are 1750 locations around the state where you can use ELS. For a list of these, go to the ELS page or call the DNR Information Center at 651-296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (TTY: 651-296-5484 or 1-800-657-3929).

On the Internet
Buy your daily, one-season and three-season ski passes through the DNR online licensing system.

By phone
Call 1-888-MNLICENse (1-888-665-4236) to buy a daily, one-season or three-season ski pass. It’s instant and easy. Have your date of birth, driver’s license and credit card (Discover, MasterCard or Visa) ready when you call. (There is a $3.50 processing fee for this convenience.)